Posted by: Johnny Greene | January 24, 2013

The Triggerfish bite is great; Right Now!

The fishing in the winter time off of the coast of Orange Beach has long been a favorite of many savvy anglers.  This time

The big Triggers are Biting!

Triggerfish are fan favorite to eat and catch! This young man has a trophy in his hands!

of year you will not have long lines, traffic jams or Mosquito’s but the fishing is as good as it can get.  You might have to be a little flexible on the weather but this winter has been very mild and sea conditions are calm for the most part

One of my longtime favorite types of fish to catch has always been triggerfish and I must admit the 6 month closure last year was especially hard for me.  Yes it hurt not having them available to my customers but I truly love to catch and eat them.  However, the trade-off of the fishery closure far outweighs the desire to catch.

For years triggerfish were considered a trash fish mainly because people did not know how to clean them.  Since I started fishing in the 80′s we have always kept them and they have always been one if my most favorite fish to eat.  Although they are admittedly odd-looking with some nasty looking jagged teeth used to eat barnacles among other things, they have a firm white meat that you can bake, broil, blacken or my personal favorite… Fried!  Well as you can imagine I love everything fried and this is my favorite!

Have you ever wondered where they got their name from?  Well I don’t know if anyone really knows but the one I believe is how to get that big spike of a fin to lie down on top of its head.  There is a small fin right behind the big one that must move first, and then the big one will fall back just like a trigger.

So they next time you catch a trigger you have the inside information on some of the best eating around!  Besides, I will always take a couple of pieces home, if you’re still not convinced!

Written by Johnny Greene

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,787 other followers

